Thursday, October 23, 2008

The Shame of the City Council

Today the City Council and Mayor Michael Bloomberg struck a low point in recent New York City politics by going against two public referendums in order to give themselves a chance at third terms. At least voters may have a chance when it comes to keeping them from extending their political careers.

The self-serving councilmembers:
Maria del Carmen Arroyo
Maria Baez
Leroy Comrie
Inez Dickens
Erik Martin Dilan
Simcha Felder
Lewis Fidler
Helen Foster
Alan Gerson
Sara Gonzalez
Robert Jackson
Melinda Katz
G. Oliver Koppell
Miguel Martinez
Darlene Mealy
Michael Nelson
Christine Quinn
Domenic Recchia
Diana Reyna
Joel Rivera
James Sanders
Larry Seabrook
Helen Sears
Kendall Stewart
James Vacca
Al Vann
Peter Vallone, Jr
Tom White
David Yassky
Councilmembers who opposed the extension:
Joseph Addabbo
Tony Avella
Charles Barron
Gail Brewer
Anthony Como
Bill de Blasio
Mathieu Eugene
Daniel Garodnick
James Gennaro
Vincent Gentile
Eric Gioia
Vincent Ignizio
Letitia James
Jessica Lappin
John Liu
Melissa Mark-Viverito
Michael McMahon
Rosie Mendez
Hiram Monserrate
James Oddo
Annabel Palma
David Weprin

1 comment:

caprice said...

Makes me glad I spent a couple hours last evening phone-banking for Abbaddo's State Senate campgaign.